Staff Directory

 

Katie Hill

Principal

Katie is absolutely thrilled to be the Founding School Leader at KIPP Truth Elementary. Prior to joining the KIPP DFW Team & Family, Katie was a principal intern in Durham Public Schools and the Director of Special Education at Maureen Joy Charter School in Durham, North Carolina. With KIPP DFW, she served as the Director of Special Education at KIPP Truth Academy, was a Miles Family Fellow and a Fisher Fellow. An alumna of Teach For America - Eastern North Carolina, she taught special education in inclusion, resource, and self-contained settings. Katie has served three times as a School Director for Teach For America at both the Mississippi Delta and Tulsa Institutes and was a Corps Member Advisor at the Chicago Institute. A recipient of the Sue Lehmann Excellence in Teaching Award, the Sontag Prize for Urban Education, and a national finalist for Teach For America’s Alumni Award in Teaching, she is also featured in Teaching As Leadership: The Highly Effective Teacher's Guide to Closing the Achievement Gap. Katie received her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Colorado State University and holds a Master of School Administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Katie is driven each day to see students and teachers expand the landscape of possibility for all of our kids in Southern Dallas.

 

Shama Batts

Assistant Principal

Shama Batts is an Assistant Principal at KIPP Truth Elementary. She graduated from Univeristy of North Carolina at Greensboro with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and a concentration in The Arts Interdisciplinary. She reiceved her Masters in School Leadership from Columbia Univeristy. After working in a large urban school district in North Carolina and coaching teachers with Teach for America, Shama was drawn to KIPP DFW because of the commitment to learning alongside students and families. She's excited to work with so many passionate community and school leaders who are determined to provide students with the best educational experiences possible. Shama looks forward to building relationships and collectively working with others to ensure the academic and personal growth for students in southern Dallas is driven by the next generation of leaders who will change our world!

 

Arielle Kassner

Assistant Principal

Arielle Kassner is an Assistant Principal at KIPP Truth Elementary. She is a native Texan who grew up in El Paso, TX and graduated from St. Edward's University in Austin, TX. Prior to joining KIPP DFW, she worked as an Effectiveness Coach training and coaching first year teachers in FWISD for two years. It is through her experience coaching teachers across several schools and grade levels that ignited her passion for what is possible for students when a school's leadership is driven towards a collective support of teachers, students, and families. She believes in the power of high expectations through providing support and she looks foward to continuing to be a part of the growth, celebrations and successes at KIPP Truth and the community!

 

Elizabeth Plotkin

Director of Operations

Elizabeth Plotkin is the Director of Operations at KIPP Truth. She graduated from Duke University with a Bachelor of Arts. Liz began her career in finance but transitioned to education as a Teach for America corps member where she taught middle school science and served as grade level chair for two years. After working as a Teach for America staff member at the Tulsa Institute and DFW region, Liz is excited to continue fighting for educational equity and social justice at the school level. Liz is driven by her fellow KIPP Truth team and family, being a part of the growing KIPP DFW region, and working to ensure that students in Dallas receive a high quality education.

 

Holly Schlein

Special Education Director

Holly is the Special Education Director for KIPP Truth Elementary, KIPP Truth Academy, and KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary. This is her first year with KIPP DFW. Prior to joining KIPP, Holly worked for four years in Dallas ISD, first as a 2012 Teach For America Corps Member at JL Long Middle School and then at William Lipscomb Elementary, as a Special Education teacher. Holly is originally from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania where she received her Bachelor’s Degree from the Indiana University of Pennsylvania in Early Childhood & Elementary Education. Holly is excited and passionate about supporting KIPP DFW’s Special Education teachers in refining their practice to foster KIPPster learning and independence and can’t wait to see what growth is made this year.

 

KIPP Truth Elementary 2016-2017 Staff Directory


Name Role Email Address
Shama Botts Assistant Principal sbotts@kippdfw.org
Jenna Bergstedt Kindergarten Teacher jbergstedt@kippdfw.org
Olivia Cannon Teaching Fellow ocannon@kippdfw.org
Mayra Castaneda Teaching Fellow mcastaneda@kippdfw.org
Keairra Chaney Special Education Teacher kchaney@kippdfw.org
Emily Deaso Beyond Z Team Lead & Social Justice Teacher eoliver@kippdfw.org
Shalonda Dukes 1st Grade Teacher sdukes@kippdfw.org
Tiffany Dumas-Ferrari Paraprofessional tdumas@kippdfw.org
Brae Gaspard Kindergarten Teacher bgaspard@kippdfw.org
Rhonda Hightower Paraprofessional rhightower@kippdfw.org
Katie Hill Principal    khill@kippdfw.org
Sarah Hoff Special Education Teacher shoff@kippdfw.org
Brittany Hughes Instruction Coach bhughes@kippdfw.org
Kiley Janik 1st Grade Teacher kjanik@kippdfw.org
Arielle Kassner Assistant Principal akassner@kippdfw.org
Brandi Kent Kindergarten Teacher & Grade Level Chair    bjohnson@kippdfw.org
Pay Lopez 2nd Grade Math Teacher plopez@kippdfw.org
Angelique Mata 1st Grade Teacher amata@kippdfw.org
Gerald McGaughey Teaching Fellow gmcgaughey@kippdfw.org
Anthony Mikkelson Special Education Teaching Fellow amikkelson@kippdfw.org
Rosario Minier Community & Family Engagement Manager rminier@kippdfw.org
TJ Newton Special Education Teacher tnewton@kippdfw.org
Lori Nunn Culture Coach lnunn@kippdfw.org
Carolina Pena Paraprofessional cpena@kippdfw.org
Pedro Ramirez ESL Fellow pramirez@kippdfw.org
Carly Reiss 1st Grade Level Chair & 1st Grade Teacher creiss@kippdfw.org
Feleesha Ridgeway STEM Teacher fridgeway@kippdfw.org
Angel Rozier Dance Teacher arozier@kippdfw.org
Morgan Taylor Intervention Fellow mtaylor@kippdfw.org
Kenya Thomas 1st Grade Teacher kthomas@kippdfw.org
Angelica C Tinner Teaching Fellow atinner@kippdfw.org
Liz Tuthill 2nd Grade Level Chair & 2nd Grade Literacy Teacher    etuthill@kippdfw.org
Katy Villanueva Kindergarten Teacher kvillanueva@kippdfw.org
Keli Walker Kindergarten Teacher kwalker@kippdfw.org
Di'sha Wallace Teaching Fellow dwallace@kippdfw.org
Jazmine N Washington    2nd Grade Math Teacher jwashington@kippdfw.org
Brandon White Performing Arts Teacher bwhite@kippdfw.org
Shae White Special Education Teacher swhite@kippdfw.org
Sian Whitfield 2nd Grade Literacy Teacher swhitfield@kippdfw.org
Victoria Ranson Paraprofessional     vranson@kippdfw.org
Elizabeth Plotkin Director of Campus Operations eplotkin@kippdfw.org
Holly Schlein Director of Special Education hschlein@kippdfw.org
Aliysa Patel School Operations Manager apatel@kippdfw.org
Jorge Velasquez School Operations Associate jvelasquez@kippdfw.org
<

Christopher

5th Grade Humanities

chendricks@kippdfw.org

Ciara

5th Grade Math

ccornelius@kippdfw.org

Andrea

5th Grade Math

amelontree@kippdfw.org 

Ashley

5th Grade Science

asteele@kippdfw.org

Charnelle

5th Grade ELA

cwiley@kippdfw.org

Danielle

5th Grade ELA

dmitchell@kippdfw.org

Daniel

6th Grade ELA

dknoll@kippdfw.org

Tamiko

6th Grade ELA

tmccoy@kippdfw.org

Wayne

6th Grade Math

wsims@kippdfw.org

Alison

6th Grade Math

adavis@kippdfw.org

Xavier

6th Grade Humanities

xhenderson@kippdfw.org

Kiana

6th Grade Science

kwickcliffe@kippdfw.org

Dazell

7th/8th  Grade ELA

dwashington@kippdfw.org

Justin

7th Grade Character

jshields@kippdfw.org

Nikisha

7th Grade ELA

njackson@kippdfw.org

Monica

7th Grade Math

mbailey@kippdfw.org

Rico

7th Grade Science

rdickerson@kippdfw.org

Stacey

8th Grade ELA

sallen@kippdfw.org

LaToya

8th Grade Algebra

lirvin@kippdfw.org

Lucio

Math Interventionist

lruiz@kippdfw.org

Calonnye

8th grade Science

cclaymims@kippdfw.org

DeKeila

8th Grade History

dsmith@kippdfw.org

Shedrick

Assistant Principal

shay@kippdfw.org

Ashley

Literacy Coach

asmith@kippdfw.org

Coressa

Assistant Principal

cyoungblood@kippdfw.opg

Tonikka

Assistant Principal

tdickerson@kippdfw.org

Ellen

School Leader

etrebilcock@kippdfw.org

Robbi

Click here to sign up for the KIPP DFW e-newsletter        KIPP Dallas Fort-Worth, 1545 S. Ewing Ave., Dallas, TX 75216
Phone: 972-323-4200 | Fax: 972-323-4201 | Staff Login