Staff Directory

Dexter Chaney, KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary Co-School Leader

Dexter A. Chaney II is a life-long learner and has been a passionate educator for 11 years. He has served in various communities in Houston, Chicago, and Dallas. Dexter has been an elementary teacher, assistant principal at traditional public schools and charter schools, and in the fall of 2016, will serve as KIPP DFW’s co-founding school leader of KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary. Dexter has always pushed his students to be champions inside and outside of the classroom. For three consecutive years in Houston, 100% of “Mr. Chaney’s Champions” passed the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills in reading and math. Before his arrival in Chicago, only 37% of the 3rd graders at his school were meeting or exceeding grade level requirements for the Illinois Standard Achievement Test. Under Dexter’s guidance, 90% of third graders performed at or above grade level for three consecutive years. Dexter graduated from University of Houston with a Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies and received a Master of Arts from Concordia University Chicago in School Leadership. Dexter is a Milken Educator Award recipient from Illinois, served as a Classroom Teaching Ambassador Fellow with the United States Department of Education, and is a recipient of the Miles Family Fellowship.

Mimi Hutchison, KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary Assistant Principal

After working in journalism and getting her masters abroad, Mimi Abebe Hutchison began her fulfilling career in education when she moved to Dallas in 2010. Since her relocation to Dallas, Mimi has served in high-need schools across the DFW metroplex and volunteered with several community organizations. Mimi has been a kindergarten, first grade, and third grade teacher in local charter and public schools and also helped develop the kindergarten math curriculum for all teachers in her previous district. Mimi has an English and news-editorial degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and masters in human rights and international politics from the University of Glasgow, Scotland. In fall 2016, she will serves as KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary assistant principal. She is excited to be a member of the Pleasant Grove Primary founding team and further promote the KIPP mission in Dallas. Outside of school, Mimi enjoys writing, gardening, and traveling with her husband.

Teri Ijeoma, Founding Director of Operations

Teri brings to us expertise in operations, logistics, and people management having run the volunteer department of By The Hand Club for the past four years. In that role, Teri was responsible for recruitment, processing, training, and retaining of over 500 volunteers a week for five after-school locations. Previously Teri ran logistics for Teach For America's national team. There she managed hiring processes, implemented conference logistics, oversaw the budget and operated 12 summer schools. Before that, she was a business strategy consultant for Monitor Group. Teri holds a bachelor’s in management science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is currently attending Dallas Theological Seminary for an MA in media and communications.

 

KIPP Pleasant Grove Primary 2016-2017 Staff Directory


Name Role Email Address
Dexter Chaney II   Principal dchaney@kippdfw.org
Mimi Hutchison Assistant Principal mhutchison@kippdfw.org
Tasha Ginn Head of Schools tginn@kippdfw.org
Teri Ijeoma Director of Campus Operations     tijeoma@kippdfw.org
Brenda Diaz School Operations Manager bdiaz@kippdfw.org
Jacqueline Arellano    Coordinator of Pre-K jarellano@miescuelita.org
La'Toya Wade Social Worker lwade@kippdfw.org
Faith Manning Music Teacher fmanning@kippdfw.org
Linda Thomas Special Education Teacher lthomas@kippdfw.org
Roxann Raney PE Teacher rraney@kippdfw.org
Shatorial Miller Kindergarten Teacher smiller@kippdfw.org
Kimberly Cotton Kindergarten Teacher kcotton@kippdfw.org
Jamie Anderson Kindergarten Teacher janderson@kippdfw.org
Tenivia Threet Kindergarten Teacher tthreet@kippdfw.org
Rediate Kebede Kindergarten Teacher rkebede@kippdfw.org
Ashley Girod 1st Grade Teacher agirod@kippdfw.org
Latasha Henry 1st Grade Teacher lhenry@kippdfw.org
Damoniece Lowe 1st Grade Teacher dlowe@kippdfw.org
Anthony Lee Fellow alee@kippdfw.org
Areli Duenas Fellow aduenas@kippdfw.org
Tyra Cannon Fellow tcannon@kippdfw.org
Adam Williams Fellow awilliams@kippdfw.org
Ann Rodriguez Fellow arodriguez@kippdfw.org
Shayaria Richardson Pre-K Lead Teacher srichardson@kippdfw.org
Zaray Morales Pre-K Lead Teacher zmorales@kippdfw.org
Elsi Ortiz Pre-K Lead Teacher eortiz@kippdfw.org
Diana Huerta Pre-K Team Teacher dhuerta@kippdfw.org
Maria Saenz Pre-K Team Teacher msaenz@kippdfw.org
Diana Suniga Pre-K Team Teacher dsuniga@kippdfw.org
Brenda Wilson Cafeteria bwilson@kippdfw.org
Tammy Jordan Cafeteria tjordan@kippdfw.org
Angel Vallejo Custodian avallejo@kippdfw.org

Christopher

5th Grade Humanities

chendricks@kippdfw.org

Ciara

5th Grade Math

ccornelius@kippdfw.org

Andrea

5th Grade Math

amelontree@kippdfw.org 

Ashley

5th Grade Science

asteele@kippdfw.org

Charnelle

5th Grade ELA

cwiley@kippdfw.org

Danielle

5th Grade ELA

dmitchell@kippdfw.org

Daniel

6th Grade ELA

dknoll@kippdfw.org

Tamiko

6th Grade ELA

tmccoy@kippdfw.org

Wayne

6th Grade Math

wsims@kippdfw.org

Alison

6th Grade Math

adavis@kippdfw.org

Xavier

6th Grade Humanities

xhenderson@kippdfw.org

Kiana

6th Grade Science

kwickcliffe@kippdfw.org

Dazell

7th/8th  Grade ELA

dwashington@kippdfw.org

Justin

7th Grade Character

jshields@kippdfw.org

Nikisha

7th Grade ELA

njackson@kippdfw.org

Monica

7th Grade Math

mbailey@kippdfw.org

Rico

7th Grade Science

rdickerson@kippdfw.org

Stacey

8th Grade ELA

sallen@kippdfw.org

LaToya

8th Grade Algebra

lirvin@kippdfw.org

Lucio

Math Interventionist

lruiz@kippdfw.org

Calonnye

8th grade Science

cclaymims@kippdfw.org

DeKeila

8th Grade History

dsmith@kippdfw.org

Shedrick

Assistant Principal

shay@kippdfw.org

Ashley

Literacy Coach

asmith@kippdfw.org

Coressa

Assistant Principal

cyoungblood@kippdfw.opg

Tonikka

Assistant Principal

tdickerson@kippdfw.org

Ellen

School Leader

etrebilcock@kippdfw.org

Robbi