Staff Directory

Katie Gilleland

Principal

Katie is a Dallas native and earned her degree in education from the University of North Texas and a M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Abilene Christian University. In 2006, she taught in Denton Independent School District as a substitute teacher, and then taught in Irving Independent School District for five years, looping with her many of her students through first grade, second grade, and then fourth grade. Katie also helped design Irving ISD’s district-wide math curriculum and served as one of their district-wide balanced literacy trainers. In 2012, she joined KIPP DFW to be the sixth grade World Humanities teacher at KIPP TRUTH Academy and grade level chair. A year later, she transitioned to KIPP Destiny Elementary to lead the founding kindergarten team as grade level chair in the fall and as assistant principal in January 2014. Katie Gilleland stepped in as successor leader for KIPP Destiny Elementary in February 2015 and is excited to continue to help our flagship elementary school fulfill its destiny for every KIPPster to and through college.

 

Tori Lee

Assistant Principal of Lower School

Tori Lee joined KDE in 2013 as a founding Kindergarten teacher, and will continue to serve in her second year in the role of Lower School Assistant Principal in 2016-2017. Previously, Tori was a Teach for America Corps member in Metro Atlanta, where she taught Pre-Kindergarten for two years. Tori received her Bachelor’s degree in Social Work at the University of North Texas and her Masters in the Art of Teaching from Georgia State University. She is excited to return to her hometown of Dallas and her Oak Cliff community to be part of a team working to ensure that all students have a world-class education!

 

Jamie Cameron

Assistant Principal of Upper School

Jamie Cameron joined KIPP Destiny as a Kindergarten lead in 2014. He graduated from the University of Southampton in England with a degree in English and joined Teach for America in 2011 as a founding teacher at two K-5 schools in Detroit. He was brought to KIPP through a desire to be part of a shared educational vision for students in DFW. His hope for the school year is to place his own students on and support others in impacting the trajectories of all KIPPsters in DFW. He recently graduated with his Masters degree in educational leadership from Southern Methodist University, and will continue into his second year as the Upper School Assistant Principal.

 

Alicia Thomas

Director of Campus Operations

Alicia Thomas is from Hughes, Arkansas and is very proud to have been raised in a small town. She attended the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff in Pine Bluff, Arkansas where she earned her BS in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance. Alicia earned her Masters of Arts in Teaching from the University of Arkansas at Monticello and taught Career and Technical Education for 4 years in her hometown. When Alicia moved to Dallas in 2011, she began teaching Career and Technical Education at a charter school for 2 years before transitioning into administration. Alicia joined KIPP DFW in 2015 as KIPP Destiny’s Director of Campus Operations. She enjoys working behind the scenes to ensure that students and staff have what they need to ensure that there is great teaching and learning happening at KIPP Destiny on a daily basis. Alicia truly enjoys being a soccer mom for her 2 sons, Nicholas and Brenton (Dooda Bug), eating crushed ice, and listening to music.

 

KIPP Destiny Elementary 2016-2017 Staff Directory


Name Role Email Address
Katie Gilleland Principal cgilleland@kippdfw.org
Tori Lee Lower School AP tlee@kippdfw.org
Jamie Cameron Upper School AP jcameron@kippdfw.org
Siamara Williams Counselor swilliams@kippdfw.org
Alicia Thomas Director of Campus Operations athomas@kippdfw.org
Brittany O'Donnell School Operations Manager bodonnell@kippdfw.org
Michael Graciano School Operations Associate mgraciano@kippdfw.org
Joy Thrall Literacy Specialist jthrall@kippdfw.org
Anupama Singh Interventionist (Special Education) asingh@kippdfw.org
Charla Ferrell Interventionist (RTI/504) cferrell@kippdfw.org
Michael Cox 2nd & 3rd Grade Intervention Specialist    mcox@kippdfw.org
Shan Ward Music Specialist & Specials Department Lead     kward@kippdfw.org
Lori Lee Science Lab Specialist llee@kippdfw.org
Rachel Stotts Kindergarten Co-GCL & Lead Teacher rstotts@kippdfw.org
Vertecia Shoto Kindergarten Co-GCL & Lead Teacher vshoto@kippdfw.org
Katie Walker Kindergarten Lead Teacher kwalker@kippdfw.org
Shanjula Harris Kindergarten Lead Teacher sharris@kippdfw.org
Lindsey Wells Kindergarten Lead Teacher lwells@kippdfw.org
Jazmin Perez Kindergarten Co-Teacher jperez@kippdfw.org
Evan Sims Kindergarten Co-Teacher esims@kippdfw.org
Ladaisha Davis Kindergarten Co-Teacher ldavis@kippdfw.org
Alex Mora Kindergarten Co-Teacher amora@kippdfw.org
Ericka Robinson Kindergarten Co-Teacher erobinson@kippdfw.org
Kristina Hargreaves    1st Grade GLC & Lead Teacher khargreaves@kippdfw.org
Tijera MArshall 1st Grade Lead Teacher tmarshall@kippdfw.org
Kelley Perkins 1st Grade Lead Teacher kperkins@kippdfw.org
Kelsey Baxter 1st Grade Lead Teacher kbaxter@kippdfw.org
Laurel Andrews 1st Grade Lead Teacher landrews@kippdfw.org
Aleshia McMorris 1st Grade Co-Teacher amcmorris@kippdfw.org
Jolie Gobert 1st Grade Co-Teacher jgobert@kippdfw.org
Marshall Armstrong 1st Grade Co-Teacher marmstrong@kippdfw.org
Basia Anders 1st Grade Co-Teacher banders@kippdfw.org
Daria Mangal 1st Grade Co-Teacher dmangal@kippdfw.org
Aleisha Dolls 2nd Grade GLC & Lead Teacher adolls@kippdfw.org
Ashley Fuller 2nd Grade Lead Teacher afuller@kippdfw.org
Veronica Jones 2nd Grade Lead Teacher vjones@kippdfw.org
Michelle Hernandez 2nd Grade Lead Teacher mrivera-hernandez@kippdfw.org
Elizabeth Jones 3rd Grade GLC & Lead Teacher ejonnes@kippdfw.org
Derrick Hicks 3rd Grade Lead Teacher dhicks@kippdfw.org
Caren Ishmael 3rd Grade Lead Teacher     cishmael@kippdfw.org
Aileena Harman 3rd Grade Lead Teacher aharman@kippdfw.org
Jasmine Hall 3rd Grade Intervention Teacher jahall@kippdfw.org
Miesha Lewis Mi Escuelita Site Coordinator mlewis@miescuelita.org
Denise Cross Pre-K Grade Level Chair dcross@miescuelita.org
Tiffany Winns Pre-K Lead Teacher twinns@miescuelita.org
Laurencia Hernandez     Pre-K Lead Teacher mhernandez@miescuelita.org
Wendy Negron Pre-K Co-Teacher wnegron@miescuelita.org
Janet Hernandez Pre-K Co-Teacher jhernandez@miescuelita.org
Marithza Padilla Pre-K Co-Teacher mpadilla@miescuelita.org

Christopher

5th Grade Humanities

chendricks@kippdfw.org

Ciara

5th Grade Math

ccornelius@kippdfw.org

Andrea

5th Grade Math

amelontree@kippdfw.org 

Ashley

5th Grade Science

asteele@kippdfw.org

Charnelle

5th Grade ELA

cwiley@kippdfw.org

Danielle

5th Grade ELA

dmitchell@kippdfw.org

Daniel

6th Grade ELA

dknoll@kippdfw.org

Tamiko

6th Grade ELA

tmccoy@kippdfw.org

Wayne

6th Grade Math

wsims@kippdfw.org

Alison

6th Grade Math

adavis@kippdfw.org

Xavier

6th Grade Humanities

xhenderson@kippdfw.org

Kiana

6th Grade Science

kwickcliffe@kippdfw.org

Dazell

7th/8th  Grade ELA

dwashington@kippdfw.org

Justin

7th Grade Character

jshields@kippdfw.org

Nikisha

7th Grade ELA

njackson@kippdfw.org

Monica

7th Grade Math

mbailey@kippdfw.org

Rico

7th Grade Science

rdickerson@kippdfw.org

Stacey

8th Grade ELA

sallen@kippdfw.org

LaToya

8th Grade Algebra

lirvin@kippdfw.org

Lucio

Math Interventionist

lruiz@kippdfw.org

Calonnye

8th grade Science

cclaymims@kippdfw.org

DeKeila

8th Grade History

dsmith@kippdfw.org

Shedrick

Assistant Principal

shay@kippdfw.org

Ashley

Literacy Coach

asmith@kippdfw.org

Coressa

Assistant Principal

cyoungblood@kippdfw.opg

Tonikka

Assistant Principal

tdickerson@kippdfw.org

Ellen

School Leader

etrebilcock@kippdfw.org